This article explains why deleted emails are still shown in the database.
When a message is deleted through the Archiver interface, the email is not immediately purged if there are multiple owners to the email. Only when each owner of the email has deleted the email from their Archiver view will the message be physically removed from the database.
Consider this example:
- An internal user sends an email to another internal user.
- Both the sender and recipient of the email are owners of the email.
- The sender sees the message in the Sent Items folder and deletes.
- It is removed from the sender's view.
- However, the recipient still has the message listed in the Inbox.
- Until the recipient deletes the email, it will show in the database.
- If the Soft Delete option is enabled, the emails will not be physically removed from the database even if all owners of an email have been removed.
- This option is described as 'Leave a copy of the email in the Archive Stores accessible by a Full Access User' in the GFI Archiver web interface.