This article will provide information on the settings available within the Archive Assistant tool after it has been installed in Microsoft Outlook
When Archive Assistant is installed, default settings are sufficient for the add-in to operate. However, various settings can be customized according to the user’s preferences.
To change default settings:
- Open Microsoft Outlook.
- In the Microsoft Outlook ribbon, click Archive Assistant.
- From the drop down menu, click Settings.
- Click the Connection tab.
- In the Authentication area, specify one or both methods of authentication:
Option Description Windows authentication Archive Assistant uses your Windows® credentials to connect with GFI Archiver server. This method is used when you are working in an Intranet environment and connected to the same domain as the GFI Archiver server. Custom authentication
Select this method of authentication to connect to GFI Archiver from a remote location outside your organization's network. The Username and Password provided here are authenticated on the GFI Archiver server.
When forms authentication is configured on the server, Archive Assistant requires custom authentication.
- In the Service address for GFI Archiver area, select from the following options:
Option Description Default This field contains the server address if Archive Assistant is installed through GPO and your Systems Administrator has also deployed the server address. If the field is blank, you will receive an error when trying to archive an email. Custom Manually specify the address where GFI Archiver is installed. Ignore SSL Policy errors
This option is enabled by default. It enables Archive Assistant to connect to GFI Archiver, ignoring SSL policy errors when validating the remote certificate provided by the GFI Archiver for authentication. This allows users to connect to GFI Archiver server over SSL even if the server is using a self-signed, expired, withdrawn, compromised, or otherwise invalid certificate.
The Service address for GFI Archiver is always set to Default, even when Archive Assistant is installed manually. If the field is blank, perform the following actions:
- Contact your System Administrator and ask for the server address
- Click the Custom button and type the address provided in the address field.
- Click Manual Archiving tab. Under General, configure the following Archiving Operations options:
Option Description Automatically retry on recoverable error When selected, Archive Assistant automatically retries to archive the selected email when a problem is encountered and recovered. Automatically close dialog on completion Select this option to automatically close the Archive Progress dialog after the selected email is archived.
- Click Delete Options tab.
- Configure the following options for Email messages and for Calendar items within Microsoft Outlook:
Option Description Do not delete archived messages Select this option to keep all emails or calendar items from being deleted after they are archived. Permanently delete archived messages immediately When selected, the emails or calendar items will be deleted as soon as they are archived. Permanently delete archived messages after N days Specify the number of days to keep local copies of messages or calendar items after these have been archived (Default 30 days). Run deletion policy now on messages already archived When enabled, the retention method selected will be applied to all old emails or calendar items that were archived but not yet deleted. If this option is not selected, email deletion will become effective only on emails/calendar items archived from that day onward.
These settings do not effect emails and calendar items stored within the archive store in GFI Archiver and are not affected by retention policies configured in GFI Archiver.
- Click OK.
As each client may need different settings, the only way to confirm if the settings are correct is to review each setting manually. Navigate to Archive Assistant > Settings from the Outlook Ribbon to access the settings and confirm appropriate settings for your environment are configured.